Originally opened in 1883, Carr was named after one of the original supporters and benefactors of the College, Dr William Carr. The House is now situated on the first floor of the main building and has recently been part of a major refurbishment. Carr is home to some 80 boys, who have a range of facilities within the accommodation. As well as a large number of wi-fi connected computer stations there are recreational facilities, a large kitchen and several breakout spaces where the pupils can socialise.

Carr House is run by Lawrence Matthews with the support and assistance of his wife Samantha. They live within the college with their son Jack and cat Max. Lawrence took over the role of Housemaster of Carr in 2013, having taught Chemistry throughout all age groups in the school for the past eight years.

He coaches U15A rugby as well as the U16 VIIs.  He was formerly Master in Charge of the Royal Navy section of the CCF and has previously run Athletics at the College. Lawrence still plays football as time allows with the staff side and is a keen reader, particularly enjoying the works of Dumas and Dickens. Samantha has worked in the nursery classes at Downsend Epsom’s pre-prep school for almost 10 years.

Carr is very much considered to be home for all who enter it and a strong emphasis is placed on family values, mutual respect and good relationships.

Carr is a happy, thriving community with boys who have a very wide range of interests and abilities, whether that be academic, sport, drama, music or creative arts. All boys who come to Carr are encouraged and supported in developing their interests and making the most of the huge range of opportunities. Over the past few years, Carr has been successful in a good number of House competitions and has produced a number of School Captains and Heads of School. A great house for the all-rounder!

View the Carr House Handbook

Housemaster: Mr Lawrence Matthews

Email: Lawrence.Matthews@epsomcollege.org.uk

House Matron: Nicola Navamani

House tutors:

Mr R Whiteley

Mr M Holmes

Mr J Johnstone

Mr M Hobbs

Mr Chris Telfer-Mason

Ms C Winmill

Mr Paul Johnson-Hyde

Ms Z Liu

Mr A Thompson